Hyundai to Compete at Pirelli World Challenge including Mark Wilkins

by Feb 9, 2018All News0 comments


Hyundai today announced a new partnership with Bryan Herta Autosport, creating a factory-sponsored race team drawing expertise from its new N performance models to compete in the 2018 Pirelli World Challenge Touring Car Racing (TCR) class.

[ads id=”0″ style=”float:left;padding:6px;”]Bryan Herta Autosport will fine-tune two versions of Hyundai’s i30 N TCR racecars currently available to customers in Europe and develop all aspects of the race team, from vehicles and technicians to drivers, coaching and team management.

“Hyundai is thrilled about the prospects for our new N branded racing team competing in the Touring Car Racing class of Pirelli World Challenge,” said Dean Evans, chief marketing officer, Hyundai Motor America. “Our new partnership with world-renowned Bryan Herta Autosport and their phenomenal drivers coupled with the proven capabilities of our Hyundai i30 N racers puts us in a great position for success in the 2018 TCR season.”

“We couldn’t be more excited about our new relationship with Hyundai N in this highly competitive manufacturer-based Pirelli World Challenge TCR class,” said Bryan Herta, president and CEO, Bryan Herta Autosport. “Having witnessed the untapped potential of the i30 N TCR race platform for this series, we’re more than confident we can leverage the strength of Hyundai’s racing and performance groups to great success in the 2018 season.”

2018 Pirelli World Challenge TCR Class Schedule

Dates Location Track
March 23-25 Austin, Texas Circuit of the Americas
April 27-29 Alton, Virginia Virginia International Raceway
May 25-28 Lakeville, Connecticut Lime Rock Park
July 13-15 Portland, Oregon Portland International Raceway
August 10-12 Tooele, Utah Utah Motorsports Campus
August 31-Sep. 2 Watkins Glen, New York Watkins Glen International Raceway

About Pirelli World Challenge (PWC)

The Pirelli World Challenge is a North American auto racing series launched in 1990 by the Sports Car Club of America. It has been managed by WC Vision since 2008, and sanctioned by the United States Auto Club since 2017.

The series consists of seven driver classifications and several classes of vehicles, including: Grand Touring, GT Cup, GTS, TCR, TC and TCA. The series frequently races alongside the IndyCar Series on race event weekends.

Each Pirelli World Challenge Touring TCR season consists of six event weekends with doubleheader races for a total of 12 rounds. Each weekend has one standing start as well as one rounding start. Each TCR race has a maximum 40-minute time limit.

Pirelli World Challenge: Touring Car Classes

The allowed body styles in this class are coupes, hatchbacks, wagons and sedans. Power output is in the 300+ horsepower range. Vehicle weight varies depending on the power output of the individual drivetrain configurations. Front-wheel, rear-wheel, and all-wheel drive configurations are permitted. Forced induction may be allowed on cars that have forced induction systems available from the manufacturer which do not void the factory warranties.

Hyundai i30 N TCR Technical Specifications


  • Transverse mounted, 2-liter turbocharged engine with direct injection, intercooled
  • Life Racing ECU and data acquisition system
  • BMC air induction kit
  • 350 HP


  • Pneumatic paddle shift operated, 6-speed sequential gearbox with external preload adjustment
  • Multi-disc motorsport clutch
  • Motorsport-specification drive shafts


  • Front bespoke Brembo 6-piston monobloc calipers with 15.0 in. ventilated brake discs
  • Rear 2-piston monobloc calipers with 10.9 in. ventilated brake discs
  • Pagid® brake pads
  • Adjustable pedal box with spherical bearing-mounted Brembo master cylinders
  • Goodridge braided hoses and fittings


  • Hydraulic steering rack


  • Front McPherson struts with adjustable dampers
  • Rear 4-arm multi-link with adjustable dampers


  • Braid i30 N TCR specific 10-inch x 18-inch wheels


  • Hyundai Motorsport-designed lightweight, high-tensile steel roll cage
  • Strengthened production body shell, painted white interior and exterior
  • Body panels from steel and GFC


  • Sabelt race seats and 6-point HANS compatible harnesses
  • Sabelt 330 mm flat-bottomed steering wheel
  • Lifeline fire extinguisher system
  • 100-liter fuel tank with endurance refueling capability
  • Odyssey PC680 lightweight race battery


  • Length: 175.2 in.
  • Width: 76.8 in.
  • Wheel base: 104.3 in.
  • Track Width: 66.9 in.
  • Minimum weight: 2,827 lbs. (including driver, complying with TCR regulations)


About Bryan Herta Autosport

Co-Founded by Bryan Herta in 2009, Bryan Herta Autosport has grown from a single-car Indy Lights team into a world-renowned auto-racing franchise. The team made its first foray into IndyCar action in 2010 with an entry in the Indianapolis 500 while continuing to run a full-time multi-car Indy Lights program. The 2011 Indianapolis 500 was the final race of the Centennial Era, a celebration of 100 years of racing at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Also known as “The Most Important Race in History,” the 100th anniversary of the inaugural 1911 race was the second IndyCar race in which Herta Racing competed.

Five years later, Bryan Herta Autosport, while partnered with Andretti Autosport, defied the odds again and won their second Indianapolis 500 with rookie driver Alexander Rossi. In 2015, Bryan Herta Rallysport made its debut in the exciting Red Bull Global Rallycross Championship.

Hyundai TCR Driver: Michael Lewis
Born: December 24, 1990
Residence: Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Languages: English and Italian
Height / Weight: 6’ 5” / 145 lbs.

Recent Racing Career:

  • 2017 – Pirelli World Challenge, SprintX Pro-Pro with K-PAX Racing
  • 2017 – SRO California 8-Hours
  • 2017 – 25 Hours of Thunderhill with Competition Motorsports
  • 2016 – Pirelli World Challenge, GT and SprintX with EFFORT Racing: 2 Wins and 2 Poles
  • 2015 – Pirelli World Challenge, GT with EFFORT Racing

Hyundai TCR Driver: Mark Wilkens
Born:  May 9, 1983
Residence: Toronto, ON, Canada

Recent Racing Career:

  • 2017: Factory driver: IMSA SportsCar Championship and the Pirelli World Challenge
  • 2017: North American Endurance Championship rounds at Daytona, Sebring, Road Atlanta
  • 2017: Sprint X championship in Pirelli World Challenge; victory at Utah Motorsport Campus
  • 2016: Second Sebring victory with CORE Autosport
  • 2015: PWC victory at Miller Motorsports Park
  • 2014: KIA PWC team; six podiums including two wins

Written by Jose Antonio Lopez

Passionated about Korean cars from Hyundai, Kia & Genesis. Photographer. I love being in nature, hiking. Tech lover.

Pin It on Pinterest